Society Officers and Council

Note: all officers are elected by the membership and have terms as listed. Click here for a historical listing of officers.

PresidentDr. Charles Horn (2016-2018)
Biology Department, Newberry College, 2100 College Street, Newberry, SC 29108
  Phone: 803-321-5257   E-mail:

President Elect - this position is vacant until April 2017

Past President Dr. Kathy G. Mathews (2016-2017)   
  Department of Biology, Western Carolina University, Cullowhee, NC 28723
  Phone: 828-227-3659   E-mail:

Treasurer - Dr. Kunsiri "Pum" Grubbs (2016-2018)
  Department of Biology, 202 Dalton hall, Winthrop University, Rock Hill, SC  29733
  Phone: 803-323-2111   E-mail:

Membership Secretary - Dr. Michael Held (2015-2018)
  Department of Biology, Saint Peter's University, Jersey City, NJ 07306
  Phone: 201-761-6432   E-mail:

Recording Secretary  - Dr. Jay Bolin (2016-2020)
  Department of Biology, 2300 West Innes St., Catawba College, Salisbury, NC  28144
  Phone:    E-mail:


The SABS Council is composed of the above officers, the Editor-in-Chief for Castanea, the editor of Chinquapin, and three at-large members.

Editor-in-Chief of Castanea - Dr. Chris Randle (2013-2016)
  Department of Biological Sciences, Sam Houston State University, LDB 300, Avenue I, Huntsville, TX 77340
  Phone: 936-294-1554   E-mail:

Editor of Chinquapin - Dr. Joe Pollard (2012-2015)
  Department of Biology, Furman University, 3300 Poinsett Highway, Greenville, SC 29613
  Phone: 864-294-3244   E-mail:

Members-at-Large to Council (two year terms)

Dr. Jennifer Boyd (2015-2017)
  Department of Biological and Evolutionary Sci., University of Tennessee at Chattanooga, Chattanooga, TN 37403
  Phone: 423-425-5638   E-mail:

Dr. Steph Jeffries (2016-2018)
  Department of Forestry and Natural Resources, Campus Box 8008, North carolina State University, Raleigh, NC  27695
  Phone: 919-866-1079   E-mail: 

Dr. Lisa Wallace (2016-2018)
  Department of Biological Sciences, PO Box GY, Mississippi State University, Mississippi State, MS  39762 
  Phone:     E-mail: 


This page updated 14 July 2016